Feitiço / Bezauberung / Enchantment (Strings)

Original price was: $10.00.Current price is: $7.00.

String Trio upon Bach's name.
(Violin-Viola-Cello) [2'41"] (1984)



3 min.


Violin + Viola + Cello

Program Notes

Rudesindo Soutelo
Feitiço / Bezauberung / Enchantment (1984) for Violin-Viola-Cello [2’41”]

ISWC: T-041.574.840-1
ISMN: 979-0-9007540-1-1
Première: 24- IV- 2009. Centro Galego da Arte Contemporanea. Santiago de Compostela (Galiza). Int.: Grupo Dhamar.

This enchantment is a string trio –there is one version for woodwind instruments and another for brass– and is built on four notes, the four most emblematic notes in the history of Western Music, the notes that constitute the name of BACH (Bb-A-C-B). These four notes establish a complex {1,3,1} and its complement {3,1,3}. With these complexes, rigorously elaborated in a counterpoint texture of increasing tension, emotions are aroused which open us to a different perception. The enchantment may be Bach or the contemplation of any other sublime beauty, but the listener does not need to know the sound material used to feel bewitched. The enchant-
ment is an abstract emotional state that each listener experiences in a particular and different way.

Este feitiço é um trio de cordas –há uma versão para instrumentos de madeira e outra para metais– e está construído sobre quatro notas, as quatro notas mais emblemáticas da história da música ocidental, as notas que constituem o nome de BACH (Sib-Lá-Dó-Si). Essas quatro notas estabelecem um complexo {1,3,1} e o seu complementário {3,1,3}. Com estes complexos, elaborados rigorosamente numa textura contrapontística de tensão crescente, suscitam-se emoções que nos abrem a uma perceção diferente. O feitiço pode ser Bach ou a contemplação de qualquer outra beleza sublime, mas o ouvinte não precisa conhecer o material sonoro utilizado para sentir-se enfeitiçado. O feitiço é um estado emocional abstrato que cada ouvinte vivencia de um modo particular e diferenciado.

Rudesindo Soutelo

New editions revised and corrected by the composer, including works published for the first time.

More Products from Rudesindo Soutelo


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Feitiço / Bezauberung / Enchantment (Strings)”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Questions and Answers

You are not logged in