Piano trio


For piano trio (1997)


Categories: ,



12 1/2 min.


violin, cello, piano

Program Notes

My piano trio is cast in two movements of equal length (12 ½ minutes total), parallel in expressive trajectory but different in form. The first is a sonata form using a row of expanding intervals (rather than pitches) to generate thematic materials. Notwithstanding this, it is still centered on A, with recognizable harmonic functions. The 2nd movement is a set of variations on a tune by Federalist-era composer Jeremiah Ingalls, distinctive for its alternation between sharp and natural leading tones. The variations are a sort of musical Pilgrim’s Progress, moving farther from the theme and becoming wilder until collapsing into serenity.

The work was premiered at the University of Akron on May 1, 2005, at the 5th annual Akron New Music Festival, by Takako Masame, violin, Linda Atherton, cello, and Nicholas Underhill, piano, members of the Cleveland Chamber Collective. Subsequent performers have included the Gramercy Trio.


Come all ye saints and sinners near.
Come listen awhile and you shall hear t
he wonders of almighty grace
which set me free to sing His praise.
I heard of Jesus, who they say
could wash a sinner’s sins away.
How to find Him I did not know,
nor how to meet with Him below.

I laid me down to take my rest,
Bemoaning of my dreadful case.
I thought I would for mercy wait
but then I feared I’d come too late.
I never thought He’d been so nigh.
His speaking made me smile and cry.
He said, “I’ve come to you my love.
I have a place for you above.”

Jeffrey Quick (b. 1956, Cass City MI) is assistant music librarian at Case Western Reserve University. He got his BM from the University of Michigan in 1978 and his MM in composition from Cleveland State in 1991. Information on his works can be found at www.jeffreyquick.com

Jeffrey Quick

Jeffrey Quick was born in Cass City MI in 1956, and began composing at age 11. He received a BM in music history in 1978 from the University of Michigan, where he studied composition with William Bolcom and Leslie Bassett, and the MM in composition from Cleveland State University in 1991, where he studied with Bain Murray, Rudolph Bubalo and Edwin London. His works are print-published by Hoyt Editions, the American Recorder Society, Lorenz, and CanticaNOVA, while chamber works can be downloaded from newmusicshelf.com and choral works are available at cpdl.org. He is assistant music librarian at Case Western Reserve University, and is a member and past President of the Cleveland Composers Guild. He has been a paid church chorister for about 25 years, and currently directs the Gregorian Schola at St. Sebastian Parish, Akron OH. A resident of Northeast Ohio since 1986, he lives in a small town on 6 acres with his wife Rusty and assorted livestock. Further information on his works can be found at www.jeffreyquick.com

More Products from Jeffrey Quick


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Piano trio”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Questions and Answers

You are not logged in