The Silent World


for flute, glockenspiel, piano, and string quartet (2010)

Composer: Jennifer Jolley
Report Abuse
Category: Tag:



"The Silent World" for small chamber ensemble. With Valerie Estes, flute, Lauren Fink, glockenspiel, Martha Mingle, piano, Chia-Hsuan Lin, piano, Stephen Nordstrom, violin, Wooram Kwon, violin, Cara Simpson, viola, Sarah Donahue, cello. Annunziata Tomoro, conductor.


3 min.


flute, glockenspiel, piano, string quartet

Program Notes

There is something serene and placid about watching underwater creatures move in a contained space. Their motions are timeless and beautiful; their actions are purposeful but suspended in the aquarium. Watching eels, stingrays, and jellyfish float in a synthetic aquatic habitat reminds me of their simple primordial beginnings. In this piece, I created a sonic environment that synthesizes the aquarium by using various instrumental colors and basic homophonic melodies to create the timeless, murky qualities seen when visiting an aquarium.

Commissioned by the concert:nova ensemble, Ixi Chen Artistic Director


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “The Silent World”

Your email address will not be published.

Questions and Answers

You are not logged in